Michael is the immediate past President of ASO.

He has more than 35 years experience in eye surgery with a particular interest in Cataract, Glaucoma and laser refractive surgery.

After graduating in Medicine from Sydney University in 1970, Michael was admitted as a Fellow of the College in 1974. Two years later he was appointed to the position of Honorary Secretary of the College.

Michael is a Foundation Member of the Australasian Society of Cataract and Refractive Surgery.

He was a RANZCO Councillor for many years and served as President of the College in 1999-2000.

Michael has also served as President of AMA NSW (2010-2012) and was a Councillor of the Federal AMA (2004-2012).

In 2003 he was awarded the Australian Centenary Medal and he became a Fellow of the AMA in 2006.

Michael’s service to the field of ophthalmology has been well documented and in 2014 he was awarded RANZCO's College Medal for eminent service by a Fellow.

He is one of the founding members of the Australian Society of Ophthalmologists and was President from 2014-2017.